... brings together the talents of six of Australia's best jazz instrumentalists - a collection of musicians whose individual work has gained them many accolades.

Miroslav Bukovsky (Trumpet ) born in Czechoslovakia, Mike has a long and established career as one of Australia's leading jazz trumpeters and composers. He has performed with many groups including Bob Bertles' Moontrane, the Bruce Cale Orchestra, Sydney Conservatorium Orchestra, KMA Orchestra, the Freeboppers, Renee Geyer, Daly - Wilson Big Band, Monica and the Moochers, Carl Orr, The Mighty Reapers, the Australian Art Orchestra. He formed Ten Part Invention with John Pochee and Roger Frampton, and has been active as a composer for this band, and for his own band Major Minority formed in 1987 to perform original compositions and currently with Wanderlust which he formed in 1991. He has won the Jazz Action Society's Jazz Composers Competion several times and also teaches and does session work. Currently Mike is Lecturer in Jazz at the Canberra School of Music, Australian National University.

James Greening (Trombone) is considered to be one of the finest trombonists Australia has produced. He has worked in jazz, R& B and contemporary ensembles and is known for his virtuosity, innovation, vigour and sheer musicality. James has recorded with and performs with many of Sydney's leading musicians and bands including Wanderlust, The catholics, Ten Part Invention, The Umbrellas and The Australian Art Orchestra. He is a valued contributor to bands ranging across many styles from those led by Jackie Orszaczky to ensembles such as Alpha Centauri. James also leads his own band 'World According to James' and recently released a debut CD " No Job Too Small" to critical acclaim.

Jeremy Sawkins (Guitar) as well as leading his own band, Jeremy works in a wide variety of musical settings. Currently he is a member of the ARIA Award winning group Wanderlust. He also performs with the Kristen Cornwall Quintet, Chris Cody Coalition and with Monica Trapaga. His debut album "Toys" was released in 1994, and he has recently recorded a new CD with his quintet. Jeremy has also recorded with all of the bands listed above and has been involved in music teaching since 1979. Currently he is at the Australian Institute of Music.

Alister Spence (Piano and Keyboards) is recognized as one of the country's finest pianists and composers in contemporary jazz in Australia. Co-leader/composer with the internationally acclaimed, ARIA award winning band Clarion Fracture Zone, Alister also leads his own highly acclaimed trio -The Alister Spence Trio. Currently he is also a member of Wanderlust, the Australian Art Orchestra, Craig Walters’ First Light and Jeremy Sawkins Group. He has toured extensively both in Australia and overseas in Europe and Asia, recorded many albums and radio broadcasts for ABC, BBC (UK) and WDR (Germany). He composes for many of the bands he is currently a member of, and has been commissioned to write for Wanderlust, The Australian Art Orchestra, Ten Part Invention, Kinetic Energy Dance Company, and The Aboriginal Islander Dance Theatre. Writing credits also include film scores for short films including, "Journey" for Festival of the Dreaming 1997, winner of Best Original Film Score Edge of the World Film Festival 1998, "Wind" nominated for AFI award for Best Sound 1999 and award winning ABC TV Documentary "Breaking Through".

Adam Armstrong (Bass) is one of Australia's most in-demand bassists and is highly regarded as a player of both the acoustic and electric instruments. He has worked with Dale Barlow, Bernie McGann, James Morrison, Peter O'Mara, Paul Grabowsky, Mike Nock and Vince Jones. He has supported many international touring acts including Kenny Kirkland, Kenny Wheeler and Billy Cobham. Adam co-leads ‘Stolen Van’ and is currently a member of Wanderlust, Scott Tinkler Trio, Mark Isaacs Trio, Jeremy Sawkins Group, Craig Walters' First Light, Atmasphere, Daryl Pratt's Sonic Fiction. He has toured internationally with many of these groups and appears on over fifty albums including the Aria Award winning Wanderlust CD.

Fabian Hevia (Drums) studied classical percussion at The University of Wollongong and Jazz Studies at the Sydney Conservatorium. He has played with some of this country's finest musicians including James Morrison, Don Burrows, Dale Barlow and Carl Orr. Fabian has also worked with Bobby Previte's Witches Brew project (USA), Lonnie Liston Smith (USA) and Margie Evans (USA) in Australia. Currently he is a member of Wanderlust, 'The catholics', Chris Cody Coalition, and has recorded with all of the above artists. Fabian was nominated for an APRA jazz award, 1996.

booking image3