Bodacious Cowboys playing the music of Steely Dan

Song 1
Song 2
Song 3
Song 4
Song 5
Song 6

Bernie Segedin, James Gillard, Shanley Del, John Bettison, Martine Monroe - vocals; Pete Northcote, Rex Goh - guitar; Nick Sinclair - electric bass; Bill Risby - keyboards; Tony Azzopardi - percussion; Kere Buchanan - drums/MD; Andrew Bickers - saxophone; Stewart Kirwan - trumpet; Anthony Kable - trombone.

Drummer/ Composer/ Arranger/ Producer, Kere Buchanan formed The Bodacious Cowboys a little over ten years ago. The band performs regularly at various venues around Sydney such as the Basement, and Jazz Festivals like the Darling Harbour Jazz Festival, and the Soapbox Café in Newcastle and other venues in and around Wollongong and the Hunter Valley . Kere also has another group that performs around Sydney - called ‘Back On The Block', (The Music of Quincy Jones).

'The Bodacious Cowboys' is celebrating the music of Steely Dan.

Donald Fagen and Walter Becker met in college in theie late teens, and soon after started writing songs together. They then got themselves jobs as staff writers for the ABC in Los Angeles , and so moved to the West Coast and formed a group - we all now it now as Steely Dan. Steely Dan were, on there first two albums, an actual band, but after this Donald and Walter decided not to tour anymore, so the band was pretty much made redundant. Steely Dan was from then and still is now, Donald Fagen and Walter Becker.

Steely Dan recorded with critical acclaim six albums, (Can't Buy A Thrill/ Countdown To Ecstasy/ Katy Lied/ The Royal Scam/ Aja and Gaucho. These albums produced hits like Reeling In The Years/ Do It Again/ Black Friday/ Kid Charlemagne/ Black Cow/ Josie/ FM/ Peg/ Hey Nineteen and many more.

In 1981, Steely Dan split, both moving on to their own endeavors. Walter produced Jazz Artists for the Jazz Label, Windham Hill and made a solo record called ‘11 Tracks Of Whack'. Donald made two solo records, 'The Nightfly' in 1982 and 'Kamakiriad' in 1995. In 2000, Steely Dan were back on the airwaves with a brand new album 'Two Against Nature' which won them 4 Grammys that year, and since then have another album out called ‘Everything Must Go' as well as a brand new solo album from Donald called ‘Morph The Cat', which also received a Grammy. Recently, Steely Dan finished an extensive world tour covering the USA , Europe , Japan , Australia and New Zealand to overwhelming reviews.

Steely Dan were well known for having numerous great session players on their records with the likes of Larry Carlton, Denny Dias, Elliot Randall, Lee Ritenour, Jay Graydon, Rick Derringer, Mark Knopfler, Steve Khan, (Guitars), Steve Gadd, Jeff Porcaro, Bernard Purdie, Ed Greene, Rick Marotta, Jim Keltner, (Drums), Chuck Rainey, Anthony Jackson, Walter Becker, (Bass), Don Grolnick, Michael Omartian, Victor Feldman, (Keyboards), Michael McDonald, Vanetta Fields, Clydie King, Shirley Matthews, Timothy B. Schmidt, (Backing Vocals), Michael Brecker, Tom Scott, David Sanborn, Pete Christleib, Phil Wood, (Saxophones), & Randy Brecker, Chuck Findlay, (Trumpet).

‘The Bodacious Cowboys' features some of Australia 's finest musicians:

James Gillard: (The Flood/ Sessions); John Bettison: (Marcia Hines/ Sessions) ; Pete Northcote: (Dragon/ The Angels/ Sessions); Rex Goh: (Australian Idol Band, Air Supply/ Sessions); Kere Buchanan: (Kerosene/ Marcia Hines/ Tina Arena/ Sessions); Bill Risby: (Leo Sayer/ Sessions/ Independent); Tony Azzopardi: (Australian Idol Band/ Marcia Hines); Andy Bickers: ( Midnight Oil/ Silverchair/ Jimmy Barnes/ Sessions).

booking image3